Buy new:
$12.00
RRP: $22.99

Recommended Retail Price (RRP)

The RRP displayed is the most recent manufacturer’s recommended retail price made available to Amazon AU.
Save: $10.99 (48%)
FREE delivery: Monday, 23 May on first order.
In stock.
[{"displayPrice":"$12.00","priceAmount":12.00,"currencySymbol":"$","integerValue":"12","decimalSeparator":".","fractionalValue":"00","symbolPosition":"left","hasSpace":false,"showFractionalPartIfEmpty":true,"offerListingId":"Y8UV7qrcH7qriBM8GZKSYvVt1rGBSs1gTnVLKkGUdWnH0%2FmPH%2BgdfsOslN5eJHwPwXDodChIvRgUmnDbFU9NxaXTIwijhE5LmzFAm%2FGrhaP8DEtz1%2BzIbvxeLKs3mjF8Veg2CBqJqJ7yFDnj5LclrdA4bTkjN4yC","locale":"en-AU","buyingOptionType":"NEW"}]
$$12.00 () Includes selected options. Includes initial monthly payment and selected options. Details
Price
Subtotal
$$12.00
Subtotal
Initial payment breakdown
Delivery cost, delivery date and order total (including tax) shown at checkout.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from
Amazon AU
Sold by
Amazon AU
Ships from
Amazon AU
Sold by
Amazon AU
Share <Embed>
Other Sellers on Amazon
Added
$20.10
& FREE Delivery
Sold by: AussieLande
Sold by: AussieLande
(14 ratings)
58% positive over last 12 months
Only 1 left in stock.
Delivery Rates and Return policy
Added
$20.94
& FREE Delivery
Sold by: Book Depository UK
Sold by: Book Depository UK
(34300 ratings)
88% positive over last 12 months
Usually dispatched within 4 to 5 days.
Delivery Rates and Return policy
Added
$25.12
+ $3.00 Delivery
Sold by: Rarewaves UK
Sold by: Rarewaves UK
(8620 ratings)
90% positive over last 12 months
In stock.
Delivery Rates and Return policy
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet or computer – no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera, scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

Where the Crawdads Sing Paperback – 14 January 2020

4.6 out of 5 stars 209,380 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Paperback
$12.00
$12.00

Enhance your purchase

Frequently bought together

  • Where the Crawdads Sing
  • +
  • It Ends With Us: The emotional #1 Sunday Times bestseller
  • +
  • The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Total Price:
To see our price, add these items to your cart.
Choose items to buy together.

Product description

Review

A painfully beautiful first novel that is at once a murder mystery, a coming-of-age narrative and a celebration of nature . . . Owens here surveys the desolate marshlands of the North Carolina coast through the eyes of an abandoned child. And in her isolation that child makes us open our own eyes to the secret wonders-and dangers-of her private world ― New York Times Book Review

Part murder-mystery, part coming-of-age novel, its evocation of the marshland and its inhabitants is
as unforgettable as Kya herself. A story of loneliness, survival and love that's as engrossing as it is movingDaily Mail

For a debut the prose is
impressively accomplished . . . A Hollywood film seems inevitable. Yet it will be hard to match on screen the delicacy of Owens's exploration of the natural world. Kya and her magical little world are a rare achievementThe Times

Kya is
a compelling character, Owen's descriptive prose is lushly impressive, and the twist in the narrative's tail is neat ― Sunday Times Culture

Owens
combines high tension with precise detail about how people dress, sound, live and eat - the case studies in her book are both human and natural . . . Surprise bestsellers are often works that chime with the times. Though set in the 1950s and 60s, Where the Crawdads Sing is, in its treatment of racial and social division and the fragile complexities of nature, obviously relevant to contemporary politics and ecology. But these themes will reach a huge audience though the writer's old-fashioned talents for compelling character, plotting and landscape descriptionthe Guardian

For
sheer escapism pick up Where The Crawdads Sing . . . there is writing that takes your breath awayThe Times (separate review)

All is not as it seems in this
heartbreaking coming-of-age bestsellerThe i newspaper

An Amazon Best Book of August 2018: This novel has a mystery at its core, but it can be read on a variety of levels. There is great nature writing; there is coming of age; and there is literature. Crawdads is a story lovingly told-one that takes its time in developing its characters and setting, and in developing the story. You'll want to relax and take your time as well, and when you're done you will want to talk about it with another reader. ― Chris Schluep, Amazon Book Review

Unsettling and tinged with sadness, yet a
stonishingly fresh, powerful and mesmerising - with a surprising ending that will haunt you. I couldn't put it downThe Lady

The strength of the story comes from the sympathetic portrait of its heroine
who cannot fail to captivate, right up until the surprising endUK Press Association and Independent I

Steeped in the rhythms and shadows of the coastal marshes of North Carolina's Outer Banks, this
fierce and hauntingly beautiful novel centers on...Kya's heartbreaking story of learning to trust human connections, intertwine[d] with a gripping murder mystery, revealing savage truths. An astonishing debut.People

Unsettling and tinged with sadness, yet astonishingly fresh, powerful and mesmerising - with a surprising ending that will haunt you. I couldn't put it downThe Lady

Thislush mystery is perfect for fans of Barbara KingsolverBustle

A nature-infused romance with
a killer twistRefinery29

Both a coming-of-age story and a mysterious account of a murder investigation told from the perspective of a young girl...Through Kya's story,
Owens explores how isolation affects human behavior, and the deep effect that rejection can have on our livesVanity Fair

Heart-wrenching...A fresh exploration of isolation and nature from a female perspective along with a compelling love story. ― Entertainment Weekly

A lush debut novel, Owens delivers her mystery wrapped in gorgeous, lyrical prose. It's clear she's from this place-the land of the southern coasts, but also the emotional terrain-you can feel it in the pages. A magnificent achievement, ambitious, credible and very timely

Alexandra Fuller, New York Times bestselling author of Don’t Let’s Go to the Dogs Tonight

This is a
heart-wrenching coming-of-age story, perfect for book clubsCandis

A story that's
evocative and sad and with a remarkable heroineImage magazine

Review

A painfully beautiful first novel that is at once a murder mystery, a coming-of-age narrative and a celebration of nature . . . Owens here surveys the desolate marshlands of the North Carolina coast through the eyes of an abandoned child. And in her isolation that child makes us open our own eyes to the secret wonders-and dangers-of her private world - New York Times Book Review

An Amazon Best Book of August 2018: This novel has a mystery at its core, but it can be read on a variety of levels. There is great nature writing; there is coming of age; and there is literature. Crawdads is a story lovingly told-one that takes its time in developing its characters and setting, and in developing the story. You'll want to relax and take your time as well, and when you're done you will want to talk about it with another reader. - Chris Schluep, Amazon Book Review

Steeped in the rhythms and shadows of the coastal marshes of North Carolina's Outer Banks, this fierce and hauntingly beautiful novel centers on...Kya's heartbreaking story of learning to trust human connections, intertwine[d] with a gripping murder mystery, revealing savage truths. An astonishing debut. - People

Thislush mystery is perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver - Bustle

A nature-infused romance with a killer twist - Refinery29

Part murder-mystery, part coming-of-age novel, its evocation of the marshland and its inhabitants is as unforgettable as Kya herself. A story of loneliness, survival and love that's as engrossing as it is moving - Daily Mail

Heart-wrenching...A fresh exploration of isolation and nature from a female perspective along with a compelling love story. - Entertainment Weekly

For a debut the prose is impressively accomplished . . . A Hollywood film seems inevitable. Yet it will be hard to match on screen the delicacy of Owens's exploration of the natural world. Kya and her magical little world are a rare achievement - The Times

Amazon Warehouse
Quality pre-owned, used and open box products. Shop now

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Corsair; 1st edition (14 January 2020)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Paperback ‏ : ‎ 384 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1472154665
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1472154668
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 19.4 x 2.2 x 12.6 cm
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.6 out of 5 stars 209,380 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Discover more of the author’s books, see similar authors, read author blogs, and more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5
209,380 global ratings

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Read reviews that mention

Top reviews from Australia

TOP 1000 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 12 April 2020
Verified Purchase
47 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 1 July 2019
Verified Purchase
11 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 31 August 2020
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 27 March 2019
Verified Purchase
11 people found this helpful
Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWER
Reviewed in Australia on 22 January 2020
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 30 May 2019
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 3 February 2020
Verified Purchase
6 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in Australia on 20 June 2020
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

Eliza
1.0 out of 5 stars Complete claptrap
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 18 July 2019
Verified Purchase
1,465 people found this helpful
Report abuse
countrygirl
1.0 out of 5 stars Total claptrap
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 13 April 2020
Verified Purchase
480 people found this helpful
Report abuse
docholden
1.0 out of 5 stars Too unrealistic to enjoy
Reviewed in the United States on 29 October 2018
Verified Purchase
6,512 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Lou
1.0 out of 5 stars Most irritating book I've read in a long time!
Reviewed in the United States on 28 January 2019
Verified Purchase
4,265 people found this helpful
Report abuse
chocolateg
2.0 out of 5 stars Huge disappointment.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 4 February 2019
Verified Purchase
393 people found this helpful
Report abuse